watermark logo

Up next

Baltimore Catechism, Lesson 10: The Virtues & the Gifts of the Holy Ghost

64 Views· 09/21/22
Ecu Men
Ecu Men
65 Subscribers

⁣Here on the next lesson presented by the Ecu-Men, we are going to cover the Virtues & the Gifts of the Holy Ghost. Without virtue, we cannot be Christian. Listen in to hear what defines us, allowing us to live as true Christians. Thanks for listening!

119. What are the chief supernatural powers that are bestowed on our souls with sanctifying grace?
The three theological virtues and the seven gifts of the Holy Ghost.

120. Why are these virtues called theological virtues?
Because they have God for their proper object.

121. What are the three theological virtues?
The three theological virtues are faith, hope, and charity. (1 Corinthians 13::13)

122. What is faith?
Faith is the virtue by which we firmly believe all the truths God has revealed, on the word of God revealing them, who can neither deceive nor be deceived. (John 20::29)

123. What is hope?
Hope is the virtue by which we firmly trust that God, who is all-powerful and faithful to His promises, will in His mercy give us eternal happiness and the means to obtain it. (Romans 8::24-25)

124. What is charity?
Charity is the virtue by which we love God above all things for His own sake, and our neighbor as ourselves for the love of God. (1 Corinthians 13::1-2)

125. Which are the seven gifts of the Holy Ghost?
Wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude, knowledge, piety, and fear of the Lord. (Isaiah 11::2-3)

126. How do the gifts of the Holy Ghost help us?
They help us by making us more alert to discern and more ready to do the will of God.

127. Which are some of the effects in us of the gifts of the Holy Ghost?
Some of the effects in us of the gifts of the Holy Ghost are the fruits of the Holy Ghost and the beatitudes.

128. Which are the twelve fruits of the Holy Ghost?
Charity, joy, peace, patience, benignity, goodness, long-suffering, mildness, faith, modesty, continency, and chastity. (Galatians 5::22-23)

129. Which are the eight beatitudes?
The eight beatitudes are found in Matthew 5::3-10

130. Are there any other virtues besides the theological virtues of faith, hope, and charity?
Besides the theological virtues of faith, hope, and charity there are other virtues, called moral virtues.

131. Why are these virtues called moral virtues?
Because they dispose us to lead moral, or good lives, by aiding us to treat persons and things in the right way, that is, according to the will of God.

132. Which are the chief moral virtues?
The chief moral virtues are: prudence, justice, fortitude, and temperance; these are called cardinal virtues. (Wisdom 8::7)

133. Why are these virtues called cardinal virtues?
Because they are like hinges on which hang all the other moral virtues and our whole moral life. The word "cardinal" is derived from the Latin word "cardo" meaning hinge.

134. How do prudence, justice, fortitude and temperance dispose us to lead good lives?
Prudence disposes us in all circumstances to form right judgments about what we must do or not do. Justice disposes us to give everyone what belongs to him. Fortitude disposes us to do what is good in spite of any difficulty. Temperance disposes us to control our desires and to use rightly the things which please ourselves. (Proverbs 21::21)

135. Which are some of the other moral virtues?
Some of the other moral virtues are: Filial piety and patriotism, Obedience, Veracity, Liberality, Patience, Humility, Chastity. Besides these, there are many other moral virtues.


Baltimore Catechism, Lesson 10:

Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi:


Consecration to St Joseph:

Haydock Commentary Matt 5:10 (Just Persecution)

Errors of Russia:

Cardinal Virtues:

Wisdom 8:7:

Incorruptible Crown:

Peter: Be subject to your masters!

Fr Ripperger: The Decalogue

Show more

 0 Comments sort   Sort By

Up next